You Don’t Need A Broadsword To Cut A Spaghetti Squash

It’s true, you don’t need a broadsword to cut a spaghetti squash in half! (I’m a longtime Outlander fan from when the books first came out.) I’ve cooked a spaghetti squash maybe half a dozen times now and good lord you could dent your floor with one of those and it wouldn’t crack. Cutting one in half with my chef’s knife could count as my work out for the day. Fortunately, after my first attempt or two, I found a trick that makes it much easier!

I wish I had the source, but apparently I didn’t pin it. All you really need is a microwave and in my case a ceramic paring knife. (Mine are nothing fancy & I don’t make anything from you clicking the link.) I recently discovered ceramic knives and I’m in love. They make all my other knives seem as dull as, well, my butter knives.

All you need to do is take your knife and score the skin of the spaghetti squash lightly a few times all the way around. I score the top cut a bit deeper and make an X so I can find it easier. I’m not sure it really makes a difference, but I do it. Next, pop the squash in the microwave for 10 minutes, let it cool a bit so you’re not playing hot potato while trying to cut it, and you’re done. My microwave is a mere 700 watts and I sit my squash directly on the turntable sans plate and this works incredibly well for me.

Leave a comment